The Power of Asking for Help: A Working Woman’s Guide to Success

Ask for help, not because you are weak, but because you want to remain strong

Les brown

Picture this; you’re juggling deadlines, meetings, school pickups, and soccer practices. The to-do list seems endless, and the pressure is mounting. In the hustle and bustle of modern life, it’s easy for working women, especially mothers, to fall into the trap of thinking they have to do it all alone. But what if I told you that asking for help could be your greatest asset? Yes, you heard it right. It’s time to embrace the power of seeking support in your career journey.

These days I don’t struggle to ask for help, but it wasn’t always like this. I am glad life “taught” me that I was never meant to try figure out everything on my own and it is perfectly fine to ask for help. I am a mom of three and wife to the most supportive husband. My children are now 11 years old and 9 years old. These days they are more independent, but it wasn’t always like this. There was a period when all three of them were less than three years old. With both my hubby and I going to work, we knew we had to get help.

Embracing Vulnerability
Asking for help requires vulnerability, but it’s also a display of strength. Consider a scenario where you are overwhelmed with a project at work while also managing household chores. Instead of silently struggling, reach out to your colleagues or partner for assistance. By admitting you can’t do it all alone, you open the door for collaboration and support. Remember, even superheroes have sidekicks. When my daughter was born, I wanted to do everything for her on my own. I was the only one feeding her (she was breastfeeding so it’s not like anyone else could do that!), I was bathing her and just fussing over her. It was probably the excitement of being a new mother. Even when I went back to work at the end of my maternity leave, my instructions to the nanny were very clear. I would bath the baby when I got back from work. All she needed to do was feed her based on a schedule that I had  instructed for her to follow and the other normal things like changing diapers. I just wanted to do everything for my baby by myself. Whilst this initially worked, it was not sustainable as I was always tired and close to burnout.

Fostering Growth and Learning
Nobody knows everything, and that’s perfectly okay. Asking for help is an opportunity for growth and learning. Whether it’s seeking mentorship, attending training sessions, or simply asking a question, every interaction is a chance to expand your knowledge and skill set. Two years after the birth of our daughter, we were blessed with twins. We moved from one child two three children overnight. Thankfully for us, we had close family and friends who were available to support and help, but we had to ask for this help. Remember people are not mind readers. You cannot assume they know what you are going through. So it is very important to clearly articulate where you need help and from whom.

Cultivating Support Systems
In the fast-paced corporate world, having a strong support system is essential. Whether it’s your partner, friends, family, or colleagues, building a network of people who have your back can make all the difference. Don’t be afraid to lean on them when the going gets tough. When I was overwhelmed, I turned to my family and colleagues for support. Saturday afternoon was my sleep recovery day. My nieces and nephews took turns to watch the children most Saturdays whilst I had some time for myself to rest and recover.

Prioritizing Self-Care
As working women, it’s easy to prioritize others’ needs above our own. However, self-care isn’t selfish—it’s necessary for sustainable success. Asking for help allows you to delegate tasks, freeing up time for self-care activities that rejuvenate your mind, body, and soul. You have probably heard the saying you cannot pour from an empty cup. This means to be a great mother, wife, daughter and employee or employer, you have to be in a good physical and mental space. I started prioritizing myself and carving out time for myself to read, go for walks and writing, things that I enjoyed. These activities refreshed me and refueled me for my family and work life.

Setting an Empowering Example
By embracing help-seeking behavior, you set an empowering example for others, especially your children. Show them that it’s okay to ask for assistance when needed and that collaboration leads to success. Break the stereotype of the “superwoman” who does it all alone, and pave the way for a more supportive and inclusive future.

Asking for help isn’t a sign of weakness—it’s a strategic move towards success. By embracing vulnerability, fostering growth, cultivating support systems, prioritizing self-care, and setting empowering examples, you can thrive as a working woman in your career and family life.  Remember, you’re not alone on this journey. Let’s rise together, one request for help at a time.

Are you ready to unlock your full potential as a working woman? Join me on social media for more tips, insights, and support on your journey to success. Let’s build a community where asking for help is not a sign of weakness but a catalyst for growth. Together, we can shatter barriers and redefine what it means to thrive in both career and family life.

Instagram – @careers_with_mum_in_stilettos

Tiktok – @CareerSuccessInStilettos

Facebook – @MumInStilettos

Published by Mum in Stilettos

I started blogging when i became a mother. I was struggling to manage the demands of being a working mom and being present for my baby's key development milestones. Initially this was a rant about my experiences in the office and at home. Over the years it has evolved into an online support community for mothers who are growing their families as they grow their careers. I am a wife and mum to 3 amazing children. During the day I am have a job i love as marketer for a multinational FMCG company. When i get home, I have another equally rewarding job called being a mother. When everyone is tucked in bed, I find time to blog about my journey as a mum in stilettos and build this community for us working moms so we can thrive at home and at work.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.